#217 dance around your kitchen every morning as you make coffee

30 Jan

January was the month in which time escaped me! I have not blogged for quite sometime. I went back to work with the mindset of becoming a better teacher (and person) so I put a lot of time into plans that did not always succeed. My computer picked up a virus (eek!) so I was without a computer for a few days + $130 in the hole. I celebrated my 25th birthday, traveled to Denver, and finally bought a pair of Sperry’s (boatshoes!).

After quite a productive morning at Panera with my pals Shay and Cece, I have ventured home to organize, clean, and begin blogging again! I randomly opened my happy book and was pleasently surprised with the idea on the page: dancing around the kitchen!

I like this because of how versatile (and fun) it is. Waking up between 5 and 530 is not always the funnest thing for me to do… blasting music + dancing will be great motivation to wake me up! If you don’t drink coffee? do a little dance in the shower (be careful not to slip) or around your apartment. One of my best friends Erin and I would do a Friday dance when we would get to work last year. We would do a dance in the parking lot- not to any music, just to the chant of “It’s Friday, it’s Friday”- for about a minute. It was really fun. When I used to work at American Eagle, my friend Steckel and I made up a dance that we would do around the registers when we were bored. This dance later carried over to college, which my friends loved to make fun of me for!

Here’s my recommended dance soundtrack (of course dancing to no music or to your own singing is perfectly acceptable too):

1. “over” Drake  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2lTB1pIg1y0

2. “turn my swag on” soulja boy  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9yRme0C2pmI

3. “kids” mgmt http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fe4EK4HSPkI

4. “OMG” or “yeah” usher http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1RnPB76mjxI or http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NiXbRBS5Z58

5. any 80’s  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=btPJPFnesV4  (this one is dedicated to my SLF girls…we made up a dance to this one night many years ago)

Those are just some suggestions. Who cares what you dance to and who cares what your dancing looks like? I am well aware I am not the world’s greatest dancer, but I just dance like a fool and it makes it more fun. 🙂 

“Above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you, because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.”

-Roald Dahl

Leave a Reply

