#22 recite a prayer or make up your own

1 Jan

Happy 2011! 🙂

It has been observed that religious people tend to have healthier lives. This of course means you will probably be happier because you are healthy. Even if  you are not religious, you can still say a little prayer. “Watch over me” ; “Lead me” or “Thank you” are all little examples. When I was younger, I used to pray

“now I lay me down to sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to keep, and in the morn if I don’t wake, I pray the Lord my soul to take.” 

everynight before I went to bed. My ex-boyfriend used to pray the Our Father and  Hail Mary in Spanish before he went to sleep. I don’t necessarily recite a prayer before I go to bed, but I do pray before I fall asleep. I pray for general things and specific things, general people and specific people. However, I do think I am going to add a little Hail Mary in there from now on.

If you don’t know of any prayers? Simple, google prayers! Google has the answers to everything, including sample prayers. I think the important thing is that since its your prayer, pray it whenever you want or feel like it. Pray when you wake up, in the car, at work, before bed, before eating, once a day, once a week, whatever. I think as long as you do it you will see results. Maybe not the results you want, but the results that in the end are the best for you.

A common prayer seen at various support groups is the Serenity prayer. Simple and easy to memorize, with powerful words when you really consider them. I’ll post it below…until tomorrow!

“God, grant me the serenity
To accept the things I cannot change;
Courage to change the things I can;
And wisdom to know the difference.”

And the extended version….

“God, grant us the…
Serenity to accept things we cannot change,
Courage to change the things we can, and the
Wisdom to know the difference
Patience for the things that take time
Appreciation for all that we have, and
Tolerance for those with different struggles
Freedom to live beyond the limitations of our past ways, the
Ability to feel your love for us and our love for each other and the
Strength to get up and try again even when we feel it is hopeless.”
Leave a Reply

