Happy New Year

31 Dec

As it is the last day of 2010 (as well as my friend Megan’s birthday), I am refraining from a post about getting happy or doing good. Instead, lets reflect on this year, shall we?

2010 was probably one of the more turbulent of the 24 years I have been on this earth. So, here’s to hoping 2011 is not a repeat. 🙂

What follows are purely my opinions and recommendations for this year: music, movie, and memories (obviously my own). The ranking is in no particular order, just as they popped into my head.

MUSIC (singles + cds)

  1. Bruno Mars, Doo-woops and Hooligans: standout songs- “Grenade” and “The Other Side” (which features Cee-Lo and B.o.B.)
  2. Drake, So Far Gone & Thank Me Later : let’s be in agreement that Drake has been everywhere this past year and half. Favorite songs: “Show Me A Good Time”, “Houstatlantavegas” and “Fireworks” (with Alicia Keys)
  3. Rihanna, Loud: this girl got her thing on and recovered quite well from the publicized incident with C-breezy (Chris Brown).  Her cd is quite the grown-up tone (sex, drinking, killing a guy) but its catchy. Standouts: “Love the Way you Lie Pt. II”, “Fading”, and “Cheers (drink to that)”.
  4. Taylor Swift, Speak Now: If I could be friends with Taylor, I would be pretty happy. Plain and simple, I just think she is amazing. After Shay burned me this cd, it was in heavy rotation in my car and on my computer. It is hard to choose a couple songs but they are: “Long Live”, “Haunted”, and “Enchanted”.
  5. Glee Christmas cd: clear standout on here is “Baby, It’s Cold Outside”
  6. Diddy-Dirty Money and Skylar Grey, “Coming Home”. Absolutely love, love, love this song.
  7. Katy Perry, “Firework”. Just motivational and inspirational. 🙂
  8. Pink, “Glitter”. Pink is just amazing- whether  it is a ballady song or rock-esque song.

Movies:

  1. Toy Story 3 (plain and simple…its a classic)
  2. The Town (literally on the edge of my seat the entire time)
  3. The Social Network (funny, intense, dramatic…who knew facebook was so interesting?!)
  4. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows  (minus that odd Harry/Hermione scene)
  5. Valentines Day (super cheesy, yes, but also super cute)

Memories

2010 was exciting as I skiied for the first time (terrible), made two trips back to Pittsburgh, and went to a Pumpkin Patch in Las Vegas. 🙂 Below are some of my favorite images from the year.

*huge margs with Megs in Breckenridge

*at Daydream pool

…and lunch break from skiing

*spy on vegas night with some pals

…and back at home with some of my friends

*Elle and Laur came to visit. 

*My wonderful TFA Sped Cohort with the best PD ever…

Happy New Year! I hope you have a wonderful (safe) evening & that 2011 is a blessed, joyful, and fun year!

“How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world.”
– Anne Frank

One Response to “Happy New Year”

  1. carinnnnnenene January 1, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    awesome post. happy new year chica!!!

Leave a Reply

