#7 praise yourself

29 Dec

I like to often take the time to praise my friends, family, collegaues, and students. I feel that when someone does something awesome or unexpected, they should recieve the recognition. But, as the author said, I am not one to praise myself. However, here it goes, in a list of ten (because lists are good in 10’s)

  1. I am praising myself for working two jobs in college, while maintaining a 3.76 average GPA and graduating with high honors. ๐Ÿ™‚
  2. As a result of working two jobs, I praise myself for paying for SVC on my own.
  3. My best buy card is paid off (from my laptop purchase last year)
  4. I usually go to mass every week
  5. I created my writing unit plan, which I am pumped about
  6. I organized the most recent proficiency data into an excel sheet for all the students in special ed. at school
  7. I have big ambitions (hello to my own charter school…one day)
  8. Getting accepted by Teach for America is a pretty big deal
  9. Accepting the position and remaining committed to it is pretty awesome too
  10. Overcoming the fear of cooking at the age of 24 (at last!)

Let me tell, it’s nice to praise yourself and think about things you do daily, weekly, monthly, whenever that others may not appreciate or that you yourself don’t appreciate. Not bragging- just praising yourself…like an unsung hero if you will. So make your list of ten praise-worthy things about you and be happy! Next time you do something awesome, recognize yourself…even if no one else does! ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s almost 2011 and that means its time for New Year Resolutions… generally I think it is safe to say that 1 in 3 people will say eating healthy and/or going to the gym will be a resolution. So I am going to think outside that realm and think you should too! I’ll be sure to post my 2-3 resolutions on here. Until next…..

“For everything you have missed, you have gained something else,ย  and for everything you gain, you lose something else.”

-Ralph Waldo Emerson

Leave a Reply

