#5 don’t harbor a grudge

25 Dec

grudge: a feeling of illwill or resentment

I would think it’s safe to say that at one point in our lives we have held a grudge against someone…I know I have. Grudges can be held for as short as a few hours, or sadly, can last lifetimes. As today is Christmas (FELIZ NAVIDAD), let go of illwill, anger, resentment, and hostility. What benefit is there to you for harboring these feelings? It will only continue to hurt you mentally, emotionally, and eventually physically too. Who wants that? 

Recognize your feelings and recognize whom they are too…apologize and let it be. You will feel much better, believe me. Or, if you can’t apologize (i.e. you weren’t in the wrong), find a book that relates to you. There are tons of books in the self-help section at a bookstore! Everything from relationships to anger issues to happiness. It’s wonderful to peruse every now and then. 🙂

As it is the holiday season, I hope everyone has had a blessed season thus far.  I have been blessed with two wonderful “material” gifts: a Rachel Ray subscription + a nice digital camera (thanks Mom), but even moreso, I have been blessed to spend time with my friends and family. I hadn’t seen several of my friends for over two years (including my brother Brian) and have had the opportunities to already see them. Until next time! 🙂

“Christmas is not a time nor a season, but a state of mind. To cherish peace and goodwill, to be plenteous in mercy, is to have the real spirit of Christmas.”

–Calvin Coolidge–

Leave a Reply

