#377 donate bookcases to a school library

29 Nov

I love to read. I teach Read 180 and English I. Sadly, my students do not always share my passion for reading (unless when they beg to read more so they don’t have to go on the computer). All the books are stacked in these messy old crates. A bookcase would be AMAZING for my class….over break I will be writing a DonorsChoose grant to get this, plus some more books.

Product Image Bookcases - Set of 2-Black fancy looking bookcases from my favorite store (TARGET!!!)

If you have extra books (or a bookcase!) seriously consider donating them to a local school or women’s shelter (c’mon guys, how long do you need those RL Stine or Babysitters Club books haha). Schools could use them! I know I would be soo grateful to receive anything for my classroom, especially educational! 🙂 So I didn’t donate any bookcases, but I have donated books to my reading library for my students, which is how I lost my first copy of Harry Potter  of teaching haha and may lose my copy of A Wrinkle in Time.  I keep planning on donating too! Even if you can’t donate books or bookcases, maybe you can donate your time (volunteer to help or volunteer as a guest speaker) or anything! 🙂

Moving on, I hope everyone had a nice Thanksgiving! I’m belated on that message, so let me quickly state who/what I am thankful for:

1. My family: Dave, Amy, Brian, Steven, Dawson, Eric, and my mom

2. My friends: all my pals from Shaler, SVC, Dairy Queen, Bob Evans, AE #782, and TFA.

3. My students: my first year students hold such a special place in my heart, but I love all my students trouble-makers or not.

4. Pumpkin Pie Dunkin Donuts Coffee + Vanilla Spiced Rum Creamer

5. You, for reading this!

6. My health and life (thank you God!)

7. Harry Potter series

8. The various experiences, opportunities, and obstacles that I have encountered in my life. I am grateful for both good and bad things because those items have molded me into who I am. 

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”

-Dr. Seuss

2 Responses to “#377 donate bookcases to a school library”

  1. carinnnnnenene November 29, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    your students beg to not be allowed on a computer?

    • pangedoes1001 November 30, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

      Ha yes, part of Read 180 is a specific computer program (they have to read, spell, and match the same words/passages, until they master them) and sometimes the kids hate doing it.

Leave a Reply

