#436 volunteer with meals on wheels

26 Nov

“what is the ultimate purpose of life?”

-“to give…start giving.”

Those words were stated by Narayanan Krishnan. Never heard of him? I never had either, until this morning as  I was watching CNN Heroes: Tribute. Krishnan is one of the ten heroes being honored by CNN. He was a chef at a five star hotel in India, who in 2002 quit his job so that he could feed, bathe, shave, and love the homeless, mentally ill, and elderly who are left on the streets uncared for. His story made me cry, as have all the other AMAZING heroes. Please, please, please check them out and get inspired! http://www.cnn.com/2010/LIVING/11/21/cnnheroes.hero.of.year/?hpt=C2 Read about them there…and if you are able to catch a rerun of this tribute….please do!

I haven’t posted for awhile and I apologize. I had been busy, and tired! But the holidays have rejuvanted me to stay on top of my blogging. Yesterday, I had the opportunity to deliver a Thanksgiving meal to a homebound person. I also did this my first Thanksgiving in Vegas thanks to my church, St. Thomas More. After a nice breakfast and mass, I stood in line to get my meals. The meals consisted of two large turkey slices, stuffing, potatoes, gravy, cranberries, green beans, pumpkin pie, a bottle of lemonade, a roll, AND a prayer card with a decorative turkey. I was delivering two meals to a Ms. Nellie Rae. When I arrived, I found a quaint home…decorated so that it was clear that they were big fans of hunting and the outdoors. I also found two friendly dogs and Nellie. Nellie is bound to her hospital bed. She layed in her big bed, which was positioned in the living room, so she can watch tv. She was grateful to see me and to have a hot meal. I didn’t stay after I dropped the meal off, but she thanked me profusely for dropping the meal off and stopping by. It was a reminder of how LUCKY I am to still be relatively healthy (hernia and gastritis aside).

I hope everyone had a blessed Thanksgiving and they realize how truly lucky they are to be alive. Please check out the CNN heroes. Think about how you can give…the holiday season is the “recognized” time of giving: Angel Trees, volunteering, donations, anything. Until tomorrow….

“To laugh often and much; To win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children; To earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends; To appreciate beauty, to find the best in others; To leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch, or a redeemed social condition; To know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded.”
~~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Leave a Reply

