#531 dream big dreams

27 Oct

Since I was young, I rememeber being told by practically any adult I came into contact with that I could be anything I wanted to be. However, I think it’s safe to say no. For instance, I couldn’t be one of the first adults to travel to Mars because according to the astronaut I met during Space Expo (one of the many field trips courtesy of SAGE/GATE when I was younger) it would take 8 years to get there and I would die because there is not enough air. Crushed.

My mom crushed my dream of being an astronaut when she wouldn’t send me to Space Camp because it was too expensive (which it was). A dream of being famous was crushed by my own realization that I couldn’t sing, act, or dance. Since then, my dreams have taken a little more focus and been solidified. Right now what are my big dreams:

  • law school
  • opening my own school
  • school psychologist
  • becoming a facilitator
  • staying a teacher

Do I know exactly which of these dreams I will pursue? Negative captain. But I do know that once I choose it, I will be awesome at it. Hopefully. I know what it takes and I am dedicated. Thanks mom for the good work ethic.

What are your big dreams? As crazy and unrealistic or boring and realistic may they be, they are YOUR dreams. Don’t let anyone crush them! Until next time…

“Keep your dreams alive. Understand to achieve anything requires faith and belief in yourself, vision, hard work, determination, and dedication. Remember all things are possible for those who believe.

-Gail Devers

2 Responses to “#531 dream big dreams”

  1. carinne October 28, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    Personally I think the best dream of all is figuring it out one step at a time. Did I expect to be in NJ? no. DId I want to be an astronaut? Oh heck yes. Someday I want to sit on my front porch and say, oh, it’s been an amazing ride.

    It’s strange that you post this because I was thinking about things a lot lately and in the end all I want is to be happy. Whatever path may take that way, I just hope it leads there. I think that’s the goal for all; dream big but end with a smile.

  2. steph November 11, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    Open your own school?? Awesome! I’ve had a similar dream for years-opening my own nursing home! It is a long term dream (say at least 20 years), but I think I could run a great facility!

Leave a Reply

