#286 donate blood

19 Oct

There is a slight discrepency here in my deed today. In high school, I donated blood whenever I could. Mainly to get out of class, but because I knew it was a good thing to do as well.

In college there was a blood drive. I figured I would do it. I went and had a bad experience. First, it took forever to get to me because they were training like 10 new people. Then, once my name was finally called, the newbie couldn’t get the needle in my vein. It took about 6 pokes and prods before they finally got the needle on. Of course, my vein stopped pumping blood (not sure how normal that is) and as it turned it…they couldn’t even USE my blood because the bag was only half-full! AHHHH!!!

To top of the experience, my new blood card said a different type of blood than my card I got in high-school. To this day, my blood type is a mystery!! A so-called flaw (one may say) of my personality is that once I have a bad experience with one thing, its’ over. For instance hot dogs, chinese food, vitamins, cooking…I have had a negative experience with each of those things and have been negatively affected ever since then. Donating blood is the same thing.

This is unfortunate because I know I should give blood. But, I just can’t. So, instead of me actively promoting this…take it as a suggestion. I know it is important, so if you are able to- do it! Otherwise, just go do another good deed (i.e. tell someone you care about them, as I did several times today, even though I think it went in one ear and out another!) Until tomorrow…

“When it hurts to look back, and you’re scared to look ahead, you can look beside you and your best friend will be there.” 🙂

One Response to “#286 donate blood”

  1. simplyshaylyn October 20, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    i can’t give blood either. the needles freak me out. a lot.

    your good deed today is sending smiles through snail mail to me! 🙂 THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

