#14 Purchase beauty products that do not test on animals

11 Oct

There are several beauty product companies that go the ethical route and do not test on little critters:

Revlon* Mary Kay * Whole Foods * Bath and Body Works

                                                                   

These companies still do test on animals sadly:

CoverGirl * Johnson and Johnson * Pantene

There are several more for both categories, but I just wanted to list the major ones.

Just what do companies do when they test products? They pump a substance into an animal’s stomach or airways, or apply it to the eyes or skin. What can you do?! Pledge to be a caring consumer! Check out the Humane Society website, which has ton more information (http://www.humanesociety.org/issues/cosmetic_testing/). I took the pledge and requested a pocket consumer book so I know which companies are okay and which ones are not! Until tomorrow…

“Life in any form is our perpetual responsibility.”

  ~S. Parkes Cadman

One Response to “#14 Purchase beauty products that do not test on animals”

  1. carinne October 12, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    I think this may be the only post I am hesitant to agree with. Working for the pharmaceutical industry under FDA regulations, which also control Cosmetics to some extent, I think there is a lot of misunderstanding regarding practices. I’m not saying forcing anything upon animals is right, or okay, but I do think a lot of publications misinform the public. I guess I wish I’ve seen something that honestly explains both parties and allows the viewer to make their own decisions.

    Although when it comes to cosmetics, I do feel more strongly against animal testing because people have choices. You don’t need Head & Shoulders to survive. Why create additional testing just to get a mint scent?

Leave a Reply

