#176 resist purchasing for a day

5 Oct

Not purchasing for a day is a good deed for a few reasons:

1. you are saving yourself some moeny

2. you are saving gas/the air by not driving somewhere

This can be tricky though. Especially for you, the consumate Starbucks every morning person. Or you, the I’m just going to grab fast food for dinner because I’m tired and don’t want to cook. And you, the oh-I’m just going to walk around Target and then all of a sudden end up at the cash register spending a hundred bucks…oh, wait- maybe that’s just me!

But really, not purchasing something be it food, clothes, or a hot drink leads to a good feeling. Enjoy what you have at home. If you don’t like what you have- make a personal note to buy it again and donate it to a woman’s shelter!

Today I resisted purchasing a sandwich from a delicious place known as The Spicy Pickle. I REALLY wanted a sandwich from there, but I stopped at home and stayed. Instead, I ate a salad and frozen cheese lasagna dinner. Not quite the same, but still good. 🙂 Until tomorrow…

 “Change your thoughts and you change your world. ”
– William James

One Response to “#176 resist purchasing for a day”

  1. carinne October 6, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    I learned this the hard way this summer what it means to budget.

    Funny though, all day I wanted to go out for lunch. Then go out for dinner. Then go get apples to make an apple pie. Instead: I had too much work on my desk so I ate the soup I brought. I came home to change my shoes and ended up making a burrito. Turning on the news, I got wrapped up and didn’t go get apples. Inadvertently adhered to your post 🙂

Leave a Reply

