#266 turn off your air conditioner

27 Sep

Okay…probably most people don’t have A.C’s like this anymore….but I like the picture because it reminds me the cranky, broken AC in the cartoon movie The Brave Little Toaster, which is a movie my mom loves and one that I do as well too. Anyway, on to the deed- turning off the a.c.!

I am usually pretty good about this for a few reasons:

  1. I am not home enough to benefit from leaving my air on
  2. I am cheap/poor.
  3. I have ceiling fans both in my living room and my bedroom.

The author suggests turning off the AC for a week- not only will you save money (veryy important nowadays) but it will also benefit the earth’s atmosphere. Yay! Now, I realize for some of my fellow west-coasters (LA hit its record high for the day today- 113 degrees) this may not yet be feasible…until like November (sad, yet true), but hopefully you can partake! For my mid-west and east-coasters- its just a week! Or, start small…maybe turn it off every two days. Believe me, it won’t be thaatt bad!

In pen-pal news, I finally was able to catch up with Megan (yay!!!) and she’s going to email me her kiddo’s names tonight.  I can’t wait to start this project with my kiddos this week. The quote for today I found on a fellow bloggers site (http://finishsomething.wordpress.com/2010/09/27/the-age-of-innocence-not-hardly/) and I am stealing it because I really like it. It’s very thought provoking. And it’s by Stephen King, whom I used to be OBSESSED with the summer before and then during my sophomore year of high school. I think the first book I read by him was It. I was pretty scarred by Cujo and hated Misery– but I diverge. Anyway, I like this quote! Until tomorrow…

“No one can tell what goes on in between the person you were and the person you become. No one can chart that blue and lonely section of hell. There are no maps of the change. You just… come out the other side. Or you don’t.”

 – S.King (Shawshank)

One Response to “#266 turn off your air conditioner”

  1. steph September 27, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    Shawshank redemption is one of my favorite movies 🙂

Leave a Reply

