#948 live by the golden rule

26 Sep

I think something that has been instilled in me since the days of elementary school is “the Golden Rule.” I heard it from my mom, my priest, my friends, and my teachers. The Rule itself hung on a banner in my elementary school. For those of you who don’t know, or perhaps forgot, the Golden Rule is to treat others how you want  to be treated.

I try to live by this rule. But, I don’t always. Sometimes I am a little meaner to someone than I should be: a colleague, a friend, a family member, a customer service rep, or even one of my students. After the fact I always feel bad….although sometimes it may take longer than it should.

So today is a new day and the beginning of a new week. Today marks a really conscious effort to live by this rule. I am going to try to treat others as if they were my family and/or my friends. I can foresee trouble areas, especially in traffic!  But I think this is really important. Not only am I going to really step up trying to live this way, I am also going to remind my students about it. Sometimes, they get caught up in “mess” (as they would say) or make fun of other students and they don’t think about what is going on.

Football is about to start (third week of missing the Steelers game, boo) and I have the options of Dallas or Tennessee. I’ll probably stick with Tennesse (go 57, Maggies fiance). Until tomorrow….
“Never look down on anybody unless you’re helping him up.”

~Jesse Jackson

One Response to “#948 live by the golden rule”

  1. simplyshaylyn September 26, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    go titans!

    we should find where the steelers are playing and seek them out. pts?

Leave a Reply

