#51 become a global pen pal

23 Sep

One memory that remains in my memory from 4th grade is when my teacher told us we were getting pen pals with 4th graders in England. I was so pumped! I eagerly wrote my letter, describing me and my favorite shows (at the time it was Unsolved Mysteries and the Muppet Show- the one that was on Sunday nights and was like a comedy one). I’ll never forget the disappointment that we didn’t get replies back. So upsetting!

I wish the author would have included a website to find a pen pal. I feel like it would be hard because there are a lot of creeps out there, so to find a legit site and subsequently, a person would be hard. So what’s the next best thing? Just so happens one of my best friends, Megan, is now teaching 2nd grade in Denver.

We are going to set up a pen-pal system between my classes and kids and her class! I am super excited about this! It will be great writing activities for my students and for hers! Plus, I get to write letters to Megan! I think it’s important to teach students how to write letters because it is a long-lost practice/skill, thanks to technology. We’ve been playing phone tag the past couple days, so I can’t wait until we get back in contact so we can catch up and plan this! 🙂 Until tomorrow….

“Gratefulness is the key to a happy life that we hold in our hands, because if we are not grateful, then no matter how much we have we will not be happy — because we will always want to have something else or something more.”

– David Steindl-Ras

One Response to “#51 become a global pen pal”

  1. carinne September 23, 2010 at 6:54 pm #

    Dear Angela,

    Today my day was fantastic. First, I jogged at the shore and was on Snooki lookout. Then, I got a hot dog for dinner. It was fantastic, but did not go well with my diet. Lastly, I bought a bag of candy corn at CVS since it was on sale for 99 cents.

    How was your day? Did you meet anyone new and exciting?

    Sincerely, your pen pal.

    Just kiddddinnggg……. That’s cool how you are able to communicate with other classes. I remember students writing to Santa and how we’d be “santa”. I wonder if it’s as fun for kids to get mail nowadays since it’s a texting world.

Leave a Reply

