#709 start a book club and discussion group

18 Sep

I have been slacking my friends; slacking of course in the sense of blogging, because I am still trying to keep up good deeds as I go. The past week was busy with school (grammar, spelling, what is a sentence lessons are really draining) and meetings and appointments. Also, unfortunately, my stomach has been hurting BAD the past two days…. I think it was due to drinking caffeine/eating unhealthy and not taking my medicine. That happens easily when I am busy/stressed so I really need to pay more attention.

If you know anything about me, I love to read. I often tell the story of the reading chain in 2nd grade. That school year, for each book we read, we got a paper chain and wrote our name on it. We then hung our chains across the ceiling in the room. Mine went back to front, side to side, and was starting to make it’s way back again. And these werent just picture books my friends, they were Goosebumps, BoxCar kids, Babysitters Club, Little Sister, Sweet Valley High. Any chapter book I could get my hands on, I read. Or there’s the time in 4th grade when we were in the library and I was reading Are You There God? It’s me, Margaret. Mrs. Rose, the librarian, came over and told me that book wasn’t appropriate for my age. I was pissed that I had to put it back. Once I got home, I marched right up to our bookshelves and pulled it off the shelf and read it (Amy had a copy). Finally, I will relate the evening of the final Harry Potter. Yes, I went to Borders at midnight. Yes, I was reading as many pages as I could each time I was at a red light. Yes, I stayed up until roughly 6 am so I could read it all. Yes, I love to read that much.

Earlier in the summer, my dear friend Shay mentioned a book club on facebook and many were interested, but we didn’t pull it together. After a reminder from my friend Erin, we pulled it together and last Sunday, Shay, Cece, and I met at Borders to choose the first book. We chose Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. Cece read it before and said it was amazing, and Shay and I had always wanted to read it but didn’t yet. A great perk is that there are book club discussion questions in the back of the book! I am really excited for our first discussion and to get back into reading! If you are reading this, start a book club! Even if it is with yourself: make a promise to read 20 minutes each day and then reflect about the book when it’s over! 🙂   For me, the great thing about reading is the escape it provides and the stimulation of your imagination. It really makes me so sad to hear my students say “I hate reading”. Ideally, at the end of the year they will be saying “I LOVE reading.” Until next time….

“When I look back, I am so impressed again with the life-giving power of literature. If I were a young person today, trying to gain a sense of myself in the world, I would do that again by reading, just as I did when I was young.”
~ Maya Angelou ~

Leave a Reply

