#431 give excellent directions to someone who is lost

30 Aug

Today was an awesome first day back! I can’t believe it’s my 3rd year. Surreal that so many of my students whom I taught my first year are going to be graduating this year. My new kiddos seem great. I saw a lot of my favorite students: Noe, Jose M, Yobanny, Gerardo, Leonel, Christian, Darryl, Judiann, Merlaina, Krys, LaQuan, Asa, Angie, little Maria, Andres, Jose A., Anthony, Fernando, Damon, and Matthew (it was at a distance though). I even saw one of my favorites who graduated last year: Lashon. Seeing old kids is the best- like for real. Especially when they yell “MS.PERLIK” or give you a hug or come see you- that’s really what makes my job rewarding to me.

So seeing as it was the first day of school, there were TONS of directions to be given- to freshmen,  new kids, and even older kids who never really ventured into the 200 hallways before. Directions to rooms to pick up their schedules, bathrooms, even the cafeteria. Were my directions excellent? Wouldn’t say excellent, but sufficient enough to make it to where they were heading (hopefully).

Those of you non-teachers, directions can be given by you too…maybe if you are at a tourist or rest stop, at the mall (someone needs to find a store), at a restaurant (as a waitress to customers who were traveling somewhere), or if someone is coming to your house. Nowadays, a lot of people have GPS systems (I would be pretty lost without my MAPS app on my phone) but technology all too often inhibits human to human contact and interaction. We need to interact with one another, and in a pleasant manner nonetheless! Until tomorrow…

“Focusing your life solely on making a buck shows a certain poverty of ambition. It asks too little of yourself. Because it’s only when you hitch your wagon to something larger than yourself that you realize your true potential.”

-Obama

Leave a Reply

