#258 use a lunchbox

29 Aug

I haven’t been a very good blogger this past week. I’ve been pretty busy with preparing for school; tomorrow is the first day back! I am pretty excited to go back, even though summer went SO QUICK.

What kid doesn’t love lunchboxes?! I remember it was such a big deal when I was little to have a cool lunchbox. Lunchboxes, my friends, are not just for little kids anymore. They are for grown adults who want to save the planet and reduce waste!!

My first year of teaching I did pretty well using my lunchbox; I reused my TFA lunchbox (the one from Institute…which was filled with subway sandwiches, raisins, chips, 2 cookies, and 2 cokes- Shay and I mastered the art of sneaking an extra of the latter two) which lasted about half way through the year until it began smelling/getting stained (just googled Teach For America lunch box, hoping an image would come up but none did). I then started reusing my plastic Target bags to carry my lunches in.

When I moved into my new place, I received a little goody bag. The bag all my goodies came in,  is actually a Whole Foods bag so I am going to use that as my lunch bag. 🙂 Target sells lunchboxes, which actually keep the items chilled- which is really awesome, especially if you don’t have a refrigerator at your workplace.

Not only should you use a lunchbox, but I also recommend the following: utilize a water bottle. I bought one today at Target for 5 bucks. I also bought a recycled travel coffee mug. This will benefit me and the planet: no more spending money on Starbucks coffee and no more throwing away cups. 🙂 The tough thing here is REMEMBERING to use my purchases!!!  Until tomorrow (which I promise will happen, so I can talk about my kiddos!!).

“if you want to be happy, set a goal that commands your thoughts, liberates your energy, and inspires your hopes.”

-Andrew Carnegie

One Response to “#258 use a lunchbox”

  1. carinne August 30, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    welcome back! good luck at school.

    I have nalgene bottles in six different colors. I match every outfit. It’s bad.

    And I love whole foods. It’s also bad. For my bank acc’t.

Leave a Reply

