#540 infect your co-workers with happiness

23 Aug

Today I woke up nice and early (630 am…granted not nearly as early I will be up once school starts) to enjoy some breakfast and boy meets world before going into school. I made it into Mojave around 845 and stayed until 215. We officially don’t start until Wednesday but I came in to get some stuff done.

Me & Sam, one of my girls from year 1

Me and my (ex) co-worker Stepp (224 won’t be the same w/o you!)

I didn’t get much done simply because I ended up talking to several co-workers all of whom I thoroughly enjoy working with. Ruth, a secretary for one of the AP’s, always compliments me when I see her by telling me that I brighten her day. Such a great thing to hear- that can boost my self-confidence and mood so quick. The author suggests that being happy increases the happiness of the work place…and who wants to work in a depressing place? Not me.

As a teacher, I can translate this deed into infecting my students with happiness. For instance, taking an interest in a so-called “problem child” can make the student happy- whether its outwardly shown or not. The trouble-makers are my favorites. Last year, Erin and I had a student in common named Tony. Tony challenged us everyday- that is once he decided to enroll in school (mid-september) and when he showed up. Even though he challenged us, we took a deep interest not only in his education, but also his well-being. Despite challenging us, he would come to our classes when he got kicked out of another class or when he needed help with something. By end of semester 1, it had gotten pretty bad with Tony (even with Erin and myself) and he dropped out. This made us both sad. Erin and I often reminiscied about Tony and wondered what he was doing and if he was okay.

Imagine my surprise when I saw him biking along the road as I was driving to work last week for a meeting. I immediately pulled over and shouted to him from my car window. We briefly caught up (not in school, working on getting a job) and I gave him my email, in hopes he would email me. More surprise came when I saw an email from him later that day: I reminded him that he needed to get his diploma (either through Adult Ed or by getting his GED) and to keep me in the loop about him getting a job. His reply?(unedited form)

“Thanks alot i miss yu alot really ms perlik an thanks for the advice but dnt forget bout me plz and im trying my hardest”

That brought me SO much happiness and satisfaction. That’s what makes my job so rewarding. Anyway, be happy at work! Smile at a co-worker, compliment your boss, ask the newbie how their day is. Make someone else happy, make yourself happy too. Until tomorrow..

“Each morning when I open my eyes I say to myself: I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it”

-Groucho Marx

Leave a Reply

