#560 do what you love

7 Aug

I was flipping through my book while watching LA INK on TLC. LA INK is about a tattoo parlor in LA. Kat (the main lady) was tattooing the phrase “Risk everything” onto a guy’s back. I like that mantra. As I was thinking about all the various interpretations of that phrase, because there are a lot, I flipped back to the “make a difference at work” section. I had yet to complete any of these deeds simply because I’m on summer break (ahh one of the perks of being a teacher) but #560 aligns perfectly to the phrase of the day. 

The author writes that when we are engaged in work that is meaningful to us we have better job satisifcation and are happier. Sometimes though, we are prevented from doing what we love. This could be due to fear, lack of money, or another person. But, if we risk everything for what we love, it will all work out. For instance, anyone who has packed up their life and moved for a career or volunteer opportunity. I’m thinking of my TFA friends, Carinne who moved from the Burgh to NJ, and my brother Brian who moved to Dayton, Ohio the other week. Additionally, risking everything could entail going back to school to start/ finish your degree or perhaps to get a completely different degree. All in the name of doing something you love.   

my amazing fourth period Algebra I kids from this past school year 

& my equally amazing third period English II class from my first year (dunno why the kids love giving me the bunny ears)

Even though you may struggle at first, if you don’t take a risk, you’ll always be left wondering “What if..”. Do what you love despite what other people may think or say. If you love your job as a janitor, matchmaker, producer, dancer, teacher, manager, full-time student, mom, dad, nanny than GOOD FOR YOU!!!! It’s your life; live it how you want to and do what will ultimately be best for you! Until tommorow..

“The only ones among you who will be really happy are those who will have sought and found how to serve.”

-Albert Schweitzer

Leave a Reply

