#951 be thankful for the gift of life

5 Aug

Really, how lucky are we to be alive? Sometimes I think we get caught up in the hustle-bustle of our lives and we forget to be thankful. I was that person today; it’s a powerful thing to be able to admit when you are selfish. Today I was moping around, being depressed about jose and not being thankful for my life and the blessings I have.

Then I came home and todays deed seemed perfect:  for myself (so being selfish again, but in a different way). I’m tying in being thankful for my life into what makes me happy. Before Megan left for Colorado (sad), we went to Town Square: we ate at Yardhouse and then shopped at Francescas where I bought a book called The Happy Book. The first page to fill in asks you to list things that make you happy. I’m going to list some things here that make me happy and contribute to me being thankful for my life. As of now I have 35 items listed in my book, but I’m only going to mention 8:

  • family & friends (thats number 1)
  • blogging 🙂
  • football season (STEELERS)
  • pens that write well
  • tv reruns
  • driving
  • Will Smith movies
  • finding myself again (thats number 35)

Even more important is to remember how LUCKY and GRATEFUL I should be that I have even been given the opportunity to enjoy these items in my life. So take five minutes out of your busy schedules and make YOUR own list about what makes you happy and why you are thankful for your life. Until tomorrow…

“Subtly, in the little ways, joy has been leaking out of our lives. The small pleasures of the ordinary day seem almost contemptible, and glance off us lightly…Perhaps it’s a good time to reconsider pleasure at its roots. Changing out of wet shoes and socks, for instance. Bathrobes. Yawning and stretching. Real tomatoes.”

-Barbara Holland

3 Responses to “#951 be thankful for the gift of life”

  1. carinnnnenenen August 5, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    Green tea at 8am.
    Wine at 8pm. (okay, sometimes 2pm too.)
    Work, usually- it makes Fridays at 5pm amazing.
    Waffles.
    Swimming.
    Anything pumpkin flavored.
    Flip flops.
    Hot pink nail polish.

    This is easier than I thought it would be.

    • pangedoes1001 August 5, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

      Liking the pumpkin flavored thought….pumpkin pie blizzrds from DQ are the best! 🙂

  2. simplyshaylyn August 5, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

    Law and Order marathons
    Going to the movies
    How you feel after a long run
    Yoga classes
    Milkshakes
    Being busy
    Making things (like covered buttons!)
    Taking and playing with pictures
    Going on trips
    Taking naps
    Going out to eat with friends
    Coffee breaks
    New sunglasses

    🙂 this is fun! its hard to stop!

Leave a Reply

