#673 practice yoga with someone you care about

2 Aug

Yoga: peaceful breathing, odd body contortions, cleansing the body and mind. I never did yoga until two years ago. If you know me, you know I’m not the best at coordination (hello ski trip!), so I was unsure how successful I would be. When Shay, Megan, and I moved in, Shay had this Denise Austin yoga dvd. This was about a month where we would do yoga before we went to work…this entailed me waking up at 4 am. Ick.

Later in the year, Shay got the Wii Fit and I began doing yoga on that. That was inconsistent too though. Luckily, Shay found a great yoga instructor at our gym (LVAC), so we’ve been going Mondays at 530. This hour has been really beneficial as a way to to clear my mind and be calm through everything that has been happening. Plus it has also served as a way for Shay and I to go to Zumba. We went to our first Zumba class last week. For those of you who don’t know, Zumba is an hour long dance class…it’s really fun and funny. I spent probably about half the time laughing and it was SUCH a hard workout! Zumba is before yoga, so it makes yoga even all the more relaxing.

Some people may not like yoga, so I think the important thing here is to practice some type of exercise with someone you care about. Heck, even if no one is around, still exercise! Even a walk around the block is beneficial to you- positively affecting both your health and your sanity. 🙂 Until tomorrow…

“Yoga is the practice of quieting the mind.”

-Patanjali, translated from Sanskrit

One Response to “#673 practice yoga with someone you care about”

  1. simplyshaylyn August 3, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    yay!!! this makes me happy!!! i love our zumba/yoga dates!!!

Leave a Reply

