#930 show good manners

31 Jul

I like to think that I have good manners. However, I know there are times when I slip…for instance when I drive sometimes my manners go out the window. The author states that respect, tact, diplomacy, and hospitality are all combined into having good manners.

These are the good manners suggested in the book:

  • don’t interrupt
  • greet elderly people and women first
  • don’t shout
  • return greetings and goodbyes
  • keep your elbows off the table
  • chew with your mouth closed

Interesting, because when I think of good manners those aren’t the ones that come into my mind. Instead, here’s my list:

  • saying “please” , “thank you”, and “you’re welcome” : I use the word “please” when ordering food or when asking for something. I say “thank you” when a door is held open for me, someone blesses me after sneezing, and when given something. “You’re welcome” flows out of my mouth when someone tells me thank you. Or, when people don’t say thank you. For instance, if I hold the door open for someone and they don’t thank me, I still say “you’re welcome”. A shocked look, followed by a stuttered “thank you” usually occurs next. When I’m in the classroom, I don’t give my kids anything unless they say “please” first. I wait until they say “thank you” and if they don’t say it, I give them the look and they know.

  • saying “bless you” when someone sneezes: when I hear a sneeze, regardless of where and who it comes from, the phrase is automatically uttered out of my mouth. This happens a lot and I have had various people comment on it (in a complimentary form). It actually really bothers me if I sneeze and no one says “bless you”.
  • holding the door open for people/opening the door for someone and letting them go through: this takes maybe an extra 2 seconds out of your life.
  • asking people how they are: it doesn’t matter where I am but anytime I come into contact with someone (waiter/waitress, hostess, cashier, etc) I always ask how they are. It doesn’t matter whether they ask me first, or if they don’t ask me at all. The point of doing this is to make someone else feel cared about, I find that when I ask someone how they are, they smile and respond kindly.
  • saying hello/ smiling to neighbors/strangers as you pass them: a smile brightens anyones day. 🙂 
  • and chewing with your mouth closed: it’s only cute to chew with your mouth open if you’re a little baby and even that only lasts for a few minutes. 
  • cutting back on the cussing: I am working on this. Especially when I drive. I know that I can do this, because it’s easy for me to watch my language when I’m teaching- and I can often be found telling my kids “language!”. Really, it’s not elegant or appropriate to drop the f bomb in everyday conversation.

If you are a parent, model and teach good manners so that your children pick up on them. In fact, just modeling and continually having good manners will eventually cause people of all ages to pick up on them. Until tomorrow… 

“People, even more than things, have to be restored, renewed, revived, reclaimed, and redeemed; never throw out anyone.”

-Audrey Hepburn

Leave a Reply

