#355 give away whats in your closets

30 Jul

Growing up,  I remember spring cleaning with my mom. She would give us two garbage bags: one for garbage and one for Goodwill. More often than not, my Goodwill bag would outweigh the garbage bag. As I grew older, this would occur before I left each year for college and then when I came home from college too. Then the sad (but exciting!) day came when I was preparing for my huge trek across the country: from Pittsburgh to Las Vegas. I was flying, not driving, so my whole life was fitting into 3 suitcases, a duffle bag, and a Vera Bradley bag. That meant I had to get rid of a lot! I’m sure Goodwill appreciated it. 

I recently moved again, just a few streets over. That meant I had a lot to give away: clothes, books, etc. And still giving away, turns out I have a lot of stuff I don’t wear/use…I think I read once that if you haven’t worn the item in a year, it’s time to pass it along. I was cleaning everything out again this morning and realized I had some more clothes that I didnt need. I also realized that the extra tv I got from Becca (thanks again!!!) wasn’t really needed…originally I was going to put it on my dresser (which I bought from target, of course, and was the HUGEST pain to build EVER. thank you Rasheed for helping me finish building it) but the dresser is slightly wobbly and I dont want to risk either the tv falling or the entire structure collapsing. So I’m giving it away and hopefully it is bought by someone who needs it. 🙂

Once you are done cleaning out your closet/rooms, think about where you can donate your items. Goodwill, Salvation Army, homeless shelters, domestic violence shelters, etc. I usually donate to Goodwill because of their immense support of people with disabilities. They provide training and job opportunites to them, which really appeals to me since becoming a special education teacher.

Updates:

  • the episode on Shaq Vs., where I passed out (not caught on tv fortunately), should be airing soon. Season premiere is August 3rd, but we aren’t on the episdode..I’ll keep everyone posted as to when the episode airs.

Until tomorrow…

“We do this not because others would do it for us if the situation were reversed. We would do it for them even if they would not do it for us. We do it because it is the right thing to do.”

-D. Lahart S.J.

Leave a Reply

