#249 take off your shoes at the front door

27 Jul

sandals!

my favorite sneakers…Chucks (and my kids sneakers of choice too)

Growing up my mom always made us take our shoes off at the door. I always thought this was because she was worried about the cleanliness. The habit of taking my shoes faded when I went to college (as did making my bed, putting away clothes…) and carried through when I moved to Las Vegas. However, now that I have my own place completely by myself, the second I walk in my shoes come off…I think because its carpet.

Anyway, the author states that wearing shoes inside will cause eco-damage and expensive cleaning of carpets. Simply by taking your shoes off inside will help to protect the environment. For me, I think if this were to become a universal idea it would save that awkward moment when you enter someone’s house for the first time and you never know if you should take your shoes off or leave them on. At least I don’t think I am the only one who encounters this weirdness!

Happy birthday to my mom! Until tomorrow…

“I think the environmenet should be put in the category of our national security. Defense of our resources is just as important as defense abroad. Otherwise, what is there to defend?”

-Robert Redford

Leave a Reply

