#469 make your own cloth grocery bags

26 Jul

I taylored today’s deed. I guess that would be considered cheating if I was like on a diet or something, but since this is my own perogative, its not cheating! The author suggests to make your own shopping bags using heavy materials like cloth or denim. I took sewing class in middle school (it was required for everyone), but my fingers haven’t sewed anything since then (one could say I’m not very domesticated: ironing, sewing, cooking….those aren’t my fortes). These bags will replace using paper/plastic bags when shopping and therefore cut down on the waste in the environment.

Instead I made a purchase that truly should have been made a long time ago…or at least in the two years since I’ve moved to Las Vegas. What was this? Feast your eyes below. 🙂  

yes folks, my very own TARGET bag (and for no more than $1.07) . I would say that I shop at Target at least once  a week. That store is a DANGER ZONE when I walk through its front doors. Really, why do I need to shop anywhere else? Clothes, furniture, groceries, home decor….everything!

So anyway, now every time I go to Target, I can use my nifty bag to shop around with and when I check out, everything goes back INTO my bag and I don’t need any plastic bags (provided I don’t buy THAT much). And not only am I saving the environment, but I’m saving money too: each time I check out and I use that bag, I save 5 cents. Yes, 5 cents may not seem like much, but added up over the year thats like 3 bucks if I shop at Target weekly…thats a Venti iced coffee at Starbucks! Victory is mine, haha!

Besides Target I know a lot of grocery stores also sell reusable bags: Whole Foods, Walmart Market, Fresh n Easy, etc etc. I plan to use my Target bag when I do my grocery shopping too. So, its totally versatile in its uses (could also double as a gym bag!). Until tomorrow…

“Be kinder than necessary, for everyone you meet is facing some kind of battle.”

(Got this from someones facebook profile and I love it. While it doesn’t really apply to today’s post [usually I try to match], I think it’s something that is totally appropriate to remember anytime we encounter someone we may think is unpleasent. Actually, its appropriate to remember anytime you encounter anyone because people can put on a good front. Just think…if everyone was kind to everyone….)

2 Responses to “#469 make your own cloth grocery bags”

  1. carinne July 26, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    Like this! I use two giant reusable bags. They get very heavy but it’s great for my workout. I’m getting pretty buff. (jk jk – but I do love the bags.)

    (ps sorry for religiously blog stalking)

    • pangedoes1001 July 27, 2010 at 2:30 am #

      Hahaha it is an easy way to get buff! And I love all your blog stalking of me 🙂

Leave a Reply

