#45 fight hate

12 Jul

One of the sad things about my book is that since it is about 2 years old, some of the websites don’t exist anymore. This happened again today- and brings the total to about 10 invalid sites. 😦

Today’s deed is to fight hate by supporting the Southern Poverty Law Center; www.southernpovertylawcenter.org . The Center is a nonprofit civil rights organization dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry, and to seeking justice for the most vulnerable members of society. It was founded in 1971 and is known for tracking and exposing hate groups. Additonally, the Center fights and advocates in court for victims of  bigotry and discrimination.  They currently have four top priorities:

  • hate and extremisim
  • immigrant justice
  • children at risk
  • teaching tolerance

Some of you may know, or if you don’t, I am moving on Thursday- this means my money source is low. So my donating days will need to take a mini-break. Luckily, I was able to sign up for the E-newsletter so I can stay updated AND as part of the teaching tolerance, there are free classroom resources I can utilize! Yay!

I think the important thing to remember is that even if you (or I) can’t donate to a cause, we can at least make ourselves and others aware of the cause and issues. SPLC makes it easy to get informed on their website. They have links for news (including a story about schools in New Orleans handcuffing and shackling children-as young as 6- for not following school rules); a hate map to see active hate groups (NV has 15, PA has 28, but TX leads with 66); and intelligence files/reports on hate groups and their leaders.

Today’s quote comes from one of the founders of the Center- on how and why he began the organization. It reminds me that you must stand up for your beliefs, despite the beliefs of others. It also reminds me that everything that happens to us, happens for a reason. Until tomorrow…

“I had made up my mind, I would sell the company as soon as possible and specialize in civil rights law. All the things in my life that had brought me to this point, all the pulls and tugs of my conscience, found a singular peace. It did not matter what my neighbors would think, or the judges, the bankers, or even my relatives.”

-Morris Dees

Leave a Reply

