#655 have fun

10 Jul

This may be my favorite deed- simply have fun! The blurb states “for people in their middle years, the idea of fun might carry with it some limitations, however, studies of middle-aged people show they are more satisified if they engage regularly in fun activities.”

Although I am not yet middle-aged (but who’s to say what middle age really is!?!), I think the author got it wrong- people of ANY age are more satisified if they engage in fun activities. What’s important is here to realize what is fun to you as the unique individual you are. For me, I have fun laying out at the pool with my friends, going to Open Bar night with friends, and waking up early to enjoy old tv shows (think Boy Meets World and Fresh Prince) while drinking some fresh coffee……..all of these are activities I engaged in today/will engage in.

Maybe for you fun is working out, going to bingo (hi mom!), reading, catching up with friends, photography, or shopping. Whatever the activity- engage it in for YOU! And bring others along for the ride if you want. Don’t forget that you can (and should be able to) have fun by youself. For instance, I have fun when I go to Borders and read a book by myself (currently reading The Other Wes Moore) or when I visit Panera to grab breakfast or lunch and do school work.

Make your fun work for you and enjoy the adventures!!!!! Until tomorrow…

“Dance as though no one is watching you; love as though you have never been hurt before, sing as though no one can hear you, live as though heaven is on earth.”

-Alfred Souza

One Response to “#655 have fun”

  1. carinne July 10, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    I have a coworker who is our age and has two kids. She went to college, got married right away and started with the children. She asked me, “So you’re just dating someone… What do you do? I don’t even know what that’s like anymore.” It made me so sad to hear this. I feel that when you make the decision to get married, have kids, it should only enhance things, not require you to lose yourself. Life is all about the fun no matter what stage! Nice post.

Leave a Reply

