#158 Join the asthma walk to help find a cure

6 Jul

So technically I didn’t do exactly this deed- but I did something related. More than 20 million Americans have asthma (including me!) and nearly 4,000 people die each year. Pollutants in the environment pose increased health hazards to asthma sufferers. The deed said to check out www.lungusa.org to help participate in the local Asthma Walk.

I logged on, but unfortunately couldn’t find anything that dealt with the asthma walk. There was a volunteer sign-up, but I didn’t sign up. There are a lot of volunteer opportunities in the book and I don’t want to go volunteer crazy and over-tax myself. Luckily, there was a deed I could do- hello, Clean Air Act Amendments of 2010, s 2995.

This Amendment has been introduced into the Senate and aims to strengthen the Clean Air Act already in place.The Amendment aims to clean up sulfur dioxide, nitrogen oxide and mercury from power plants. The bill will dramatically reduce air pollution across the country.  Each year, fine particles and ozone (which are created by nitrogen oxide and sulfur dioxide) lead to thousands of premature deaths and illnesses.  EPA estimates that the bill could prevent between 12,000 and 30,000 premature deaths each year.  This important legislation will provide significant public health benefits that will lead to less asthma attacks, emergency room visits and even fewer premature deaths.

Simply by filling out information about yourself and hitting send, a letter is sent to your local senators (hello Mr. Ensign and Mr. Reid) asking them to support the Amendment. This is similiar to the Child Soldier letter in that it takes maybe 3 minutes to do!

Updates:::

  •  In regards to post #995 rooting out ambivalence, I have done it. I have made my decision and stuck with it even though it hurts my heart…The hardest decision I’ve ever made, definetely not the easy one, but the right one for the time being….
  • And for #800, I chose to apply to volunteer with Shade Tree. I filled out an online application and am waiting to hear back. I think I may give them a call later today or tomorrow.

Until tomorrow…

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world.”

-Margaret Mead

Leave a Reply

