#800 become a big brother or big sister volunteer

3 Jul

Before I get to discussion of #800, I just want to comment on how my day with the dogs went today: WAY better. Flip barked, but I just threw the treats and marched on by to fulfill my duties (water and food). It was a successful trip!

Today’s deed was to become a Big Brother, Big Sister volunteer (www.bbbs.org). The organization  makes meaningful, monitored matches between adult volunteers (“Bigs”) and children (“Littles”), ages 6 through 18, in communities across the country.  By participating in the program, Little Brothers and Sisters are:

  • more confident in their schoolwork performance
  • able to get along better with their families
  • 46% less likely to begin using illegal drugs
  • 27% less likely to begin using alcohol

I was all for this! So I filled out an application, listed my references (thanks to those whom I listed!) , and eagerly waited to hear back…and about 5 minutes later (literally) I did. Unfortunately, the BBBS of Southern Nevada only has opportunites open during the school year for an hour from 1-2 or 2-3 during the weekday. Since I am contracted to work until 1:56, I can’t possibly make it to the elementary site by 2. I was uber-bummed. Luckily, the development officer informed me of other volunteer opportunities within the Las Vegas area that I could possibly be apart of. There was a list of organizations and I have it narrowed down to the following:

Boys and Girls Club of Las Vegas:  offers Club programs and services to promote and enhance the development of boys and girls by instilling a sense of competence, usefulness, belonging and influence.
 
After School All Stars: offers a proven alternative for kids.  We engage them in activities and on-going relationships that increase confidence and encourage success in all areas of their lives – at home, in school and in the community.

Shade Tree: To provide safe shelter to homeless and abused women and children in crisis and to offer life-changing services promoting stability, dignity, and self-reliance.

Now I need to read more about the volunteer opportunites within each organization and decide where I can make the most impact. If anyone in Las Vegas wants to join in my volunteering let me know! So, while today’s deed didn’t work out exactly how I wanted, it wasn’t a complete bust! Once I find out what I am doing, I’ll be sure to post about it! 🙂 Until tomorrow…

“Caring is a reflex…You live, you help.”

-Ram Dass

3 Responses to “#800 become a big brother or big sister volunteer”

  1. steph July 3, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    I signed up in Columbus, but it took forever to hear back then I went home early that year. This is something I would Def love. This past winter, I helped kids at a shelter for battered women, but I let myself fall out of it which is really a shame bc the kids got a lot of hw done when I was there. I miss holy family and our little friends, especially Nathan

  2. Joseph Morgan July 4, 2010 at 2:08 am #

    Hey Angela,

    It’s Joe Morgan! I volunteered a couple of years ago as a tutor at Shade Tree; it worked well with my school hours (I think I volunteered from 4 PM – 6 PM once a week), and the impact on the kids was amazing. I think they are an amazing organization.

    PS – I love, love, love reading your blog! Keep up all the good work :).

    Joe

    • pangedoes1001 July 4, 2010 at 2:21 am #

      That’s so great to hear! Thats actually where I chose to apply out of my 3 choices- I did an online application and think I am going to call on Monday as a follow-up!!!! Thanks for reading the blog!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

