#602 Watch a pet while it’s owners are on vacation

2 Jul

Happy July!!!! Today’s deed (and actually this a week long deed, but no fear- I will be completing other deeds daily) is to watch a pet during a vacation of friends, family, neighbors, etc.

I enjoy animals; I really do. Cats not so much, but dogs? Yes. When do I not like dogs? When they are snarling at me and barking at me while I’m in a corner.  Meet the dogs: cashmoney (real name: cash) and flip.

One of my best friends Shay is out of town with her boyfriend. She asked me to watch their dogs, I of course obliged. The dogs are seen above. Which of these pups am I terrified of? You guessed right if you said Flip. Adorable? Yes, but not when he’s barking and snarling at you (unfortunately this fear was developed in childhood from a crazy little dog I often encountered on the neighborhood paper route).

The plan of action was this: Shay provided me with a bag of bacon treats that I would give to Flip (and Cash, but Cash is a scared dog and always runs upstairs when I come into the house) when I walked in the door to appease him. I pulled up and opened the door- treats in hand. What happened in the next five seconds was this: me throwing treats left and right as I ran to put the code in the system, Flip barking and snarling, and Cash running upstairs. What happened in the next five minutes was me hiding in the corner as Flip barked. He would retreat for about  a second to the snack, which he would sniff, but then come back to harass me.  I did my duties (filling water/food bowls) and peaced.

What’s amusing is that the last sentence in the deed blurb is “Make certain you have phone numbers and know how to deal with any emergencies that may arise.” Well, I have Shay’s number, but what can she do while she’s beaching it up miles away? Do I know how to deal with the emergency of being scared by a small animal? Tomorrow, I will walk in there with a sense of confidence and hide my fears…I think maybe dogs can smell fear? And if I can’t hide my fears? I better move quickly for those five minutes of each day during the next week! My friend Rachel is picking the number of my deed tomorrow, so who knows what tomorrow will bring! Until then…

“No act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted.”

-Aesop

Leave a Reply

