#33 donate to the elephant sanctuary

1 Jul

It’s a late post today because it was a long day, and another sad day too. But I must believe the common mantra “everything happens for a reason”. So I can’t, and won’t, dwell. Instead let me talk about my deed.

All I knew when I woke up was that my deed would be do good globally. After my day, I got home and randomly opened the book and found #33. There is an Elephant Sanctuary in Tennessee, which is the largest natural habitat refuge developed specifically for endangered African and Asian elephants. Elephants have a special meaning to the person whom this donation was made in honor of. Kind of like a reminder that even though we can’t be together anymore, I love him and want the best for him.

So, back to the Sanctuary: check it out www.elephants.com. You can watch the elephants via the webcam (all 24 of them) and read about their unique biographies. There is plenty of cool items to buy (calendars, t-shirts, handcrafted items). What I found so intriguing about this is its location! Of all the places for an Elephant sanctuary, its in Tennessee! Just so interesting to me! 🙂

Anyway, it costs $125,000 annually to care for and support just ONE elephant! The ultimate goal is for 100 elephants to find sanctuary. There are various donation options (regular donation, acres for elephants, feed an elephant for a day)- all of which vary in prices. I choose to stick with the regular donation (10 bucks). The donation can be made in honor of or in memory of a person. In addition to helping out beautiful creatures, I also get the Elephant newsletter for a year. Yay! Until tomorrow…

“God doesn’t give you the people you want; he gives you the people you need to help you, to hurt you, to leave you, to love you, and to make you the person you were meant to be.”

-don’t know who said this, and I know it doesn’t apply to my post directly, but it’s a good thing to remember in tough times……

Leave a Reply

