1001 ways to do good

28 Jun

I had tried to keep a blog last summer, but it was pretty much a failure. I got busy during the school year and forgot about it. Plus, there was no real purpose behind my blogging (not that there needs to be). But today is different. My week has been pretty bad, but today I regained focused. I am not the only person in the world who is sad- even more, my sadness could stem from a worse situation (i.e., I could have an illness, I could be homeless, I could live in a war-torn country, I could live in a country where famine is rampant- you get the idea). So when I saw the book 1001 Ways to do Good by Meera Lester I knew I had to get it. So I did.

My goal with this blog is to everyday do a good deed from the book and blog about it. I already think I’m a pretty good person but I can always become better- and why not get others involved? 

Although I know I will be sad for awhile, bringing happiness to someone else will help me- especially someone who needs it. 🙂 My first deed starts tomorrow…I have no idea how I will pick but I am excited to see what it brings. Until then…

“If you want to lift yourself up, lift up someone else.”

-Booker T. Washington

3 Responses to “1001 ways to do good”

  1. Mr WordPress June 28, 2010 at 2:56 am #

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. simplyshaylyn June 28, 2010 at 3:27 am #

    yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!

  3. msgreenbean June 28, 2010 at 3:35 am #

    Ok so I know I said I was going to bed, but your message about the release of the infamous blog had me way too intrigued to ever fall asleep. I just want to let you know how amazing you are and how much you inspire me everyday. Your words in this post left me in awe. You have had a week that would make me want to crawl in bed and never come out. Seeing you take on this project makes me feel honored and proud to call you one of my best friends. You are such an integral part of my life and your goodness shines on me everyday. Blessed are the people who become a part of your “project” because they will get to experience first hand how truly wonderful you are 🙂 (I am lucky enough to already know this as a fact!)

Leave a Reply

